Posternak Blankstein & Lund LLP is now Arent Fox. Read the press release

COVID-19 Update: Status of State and Local Orders

Coronavirus Task Force Image
Found below is the current status for state and local orders impacting employers across the country.

1. ALABAMA

  • Alabama State
    • Exempts automotive sales, supply, and repair businesses.
    • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/3/20; Expires/Revaluation Date: 4/30/20.

2. ALASKA

  • Alaska State and Essential Services list
    • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and related facilities. Sales unclear.
    • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/28/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/11/20.

3. ARIZONA

  • Arizona State as clarified and extended
    • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and related facilities. Sales unclear.
    • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/30/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20

4. ARKANSAS

  • Arkansas State
    • Allows most non-food businesses to operate subject to mandatory social distancing rules.
    • First Issued: 3/26/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/4/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

5. CALIFORNIA

  • California State, as clarified
    • Exempts auto repair and maintenance facilities, commercial retailers supplying essential sectors, and employees enabling transportation functions. Sales unclear.
    • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 (and up to 180 days imprisonment) under Government Code section 8865.
    • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/22/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.
  • Northern California
    • Alameda County
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295.
      • Violations involving threats or violence against peace officers are felonies punishable by fines of up to $10,000 (and up to three years imprisonment) under California Penal Code section 69.
      • Other violations involving obstruction or delay of peace officers are misdemeanors subject to fines of up to $1,000 (and up to one year imprisonment) under California Penal Code section 148(a)(1).
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • Contra Costa County
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and violations involving obstruction of peace officers are punishable as provided in Alameda county, above.
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • Marin County
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and violations involving obstruction of peace officers are punishable as provided in Alameda county, above.
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • Monterey County and Essential Businesses list
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and related facilities. “In person” sales prohibited.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295.
      • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/17/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/7/20.
    • Sacramento County
      • Exempts auto sales and repair businesses. Sales unclear.
      • Violations are likely misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 (per other authority cited).
      • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/19/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/7/20.
    • San Benito County
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and violations involving obstruction of peace officers are punishable as provided in Alameda county, above.
      • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • San Francisco and Essential Businesses list
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and violations involving obstruction of peace officers are punishable as provided in Alameda county, above.
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • San Mateo County
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and violations involving obstruction of peace officers are punishable as provided in Alameda county, above.
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • Santa Clara County
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and violations involving obstruction of peace officers are punishable as provided in Alameda county, above.
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • Santa Cruz County
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and violations involving obstruction of peace officers are punishable as provided in Alameda county, above.
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • Sonoma County
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and dealerships.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto supply and repair services and make online sales of vehicles “if they are delivered to a residence or Essential Business” but are otherwise prohibited from making car sales or providing car washes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and violations involving obstruction of peace officers are punishable as provided in Alameda county, above.
      • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/3/20.
    • Yolo County and FAQs
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and related facilities. Sales unclear.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295.
      • First Issued: 3/18/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/18/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/7/20.
  • Southern California
    • Los Angeles City
      • Exempts only auto repair businesses (including dealership service departments).
      • Dealers may not operate, except for their service and parts stores.
      • Car washes that require personnel are prohibited (fully automated washes may continue operations).
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of up to $1000 (and up to 180 days imprisonment) under Los Angeles Administrative Code sections 8.77 and 8.78.
      • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/19/20.
    • Los Angeles County
      • Exempts only auto repair businesses (including dealership service departments).
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295 and a fine of up to $500 (and up to 180 days imprisonment) under Los Angeles County Code section 11.02.080.
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/21/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/19/20.
    • Orange County
      • Press Release provides that Orange County’s prior public health order (expired March 31) has been superseded by the state order.
    • City of Palm Springs and FAQs
      • Exempts auto sales and repair businesses.
      • In person sales are permitted only to essential businesses or essential workers (e.g. fleet operations).
      • Dealers may sell cars online and deliver to people’s homes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of up to $500 (and up to 180 days imprisonment) under Palm Springs Municipal Code section 2.20.100.
      • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/17/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/02/20.
    • Riverside County and FAQs
      • Press release references state order.
      • In person sales are only permitted to essential businesses or essential workers (e.g. fleet operations).
      • Dealers may sell cars online and deliver to people’s homes.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 (and up to 180 days imprisonment) under Government Code section 8865.
    • San Bernardino County
      • Allows most non-food retailers to remain open subject to social distancing guidelines.
      • Press Release references statewide order and exceptions for essential services (supersedes county order).
    • San Diego and San Diego County.
      • City order requires compliance with county and state orders.
        • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/30/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.
      • County order references statewide order and exceptions for essential services (supersedes city and county orders).
        • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/27/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295.
    • Ventura County
      • Exempts auto supply and repair businesses
      • Dealers may continue offering repair and parts, and may sell cars online and deliver to people’s homes. Showrooms must be closed to customers and on-premises sales are prohibited.
      • Violations are misdemeanors punishable by a fine of $50 - $1,000 (and up to 90 days imprisonment) under Health and Safety Code section 120295.
      • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/19/20.
  • Central California
    • City of Fresno as extended and Essential Businesses list
      • Exempts auto supply, repair businesses, and related facilities.
      • Dealers may sell cars online and deliver to people’s homes. Showrooms and lots must be closed.
      • No penalties provided in the order.
      • First Issued: 3/18/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/26/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/12/20.

6. COLORADO

  • Colorado State
    • Exempts auto supply and repair businesses subject to social distancing guidelines, consistent with prior orders issued by Boulder, Denver and Pitkin County.
    • Dealerships may provide maintenance and repair services but in-person retail sales are prohibited.
    • Online vehicle sales “with no touch delivery service” are permitted.
    • First Issued: 3/12/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/11/20.

7. CONNECTICUT

  • Connecticut State and Amendments 7H7J, and 7N
    • Authorized DECD Agency guidelines exempts auto sales, auto supply, and repair businesses.
    • Auto sales must be conducted remotely with curbside pickup or delivery.
    • Dealers may “complete sales” in a service bay or designated room cleaned according to CDC Guidelines, or at a consumer’s home or business.
    • First Issued: 3/12/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.

8. DELAWARE

  • Delaware State
    • Exempts only auto supply, repair, maintenance businesses, and manufacturers and distributors.
    • First Issued: 3/12/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/15/20.

9. DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

10. FLORIDA

  • Florida State and Essential Businesses list
    • Exempts auto supply, repair, maintenance, and “transportation equipment… distribution facilities.” Sales unclear.
    • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/24/20.
  • Alachua County (and Gainesville city)
    • Per County website, Alachua County is now deferring to the state order regarding essential businesses.
    • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/27/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.
  • Bay-Harbor Islands
    • Exempts auto sales (by reference to Miami-Dade County Order) and repair facilities.
    • Town website now provides a link to the state executive orders.
    • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/23/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.
  • Miami Beach
    • Exempts auto sales, auto supply, and repair facilities.
    • First Issued: 3/20/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/3/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/9/20.
  • Miami-Dade County, as amended and extended
    • Exempts auto sales, auto supply, and repair facilities
    • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/9/20.

11. GEORGIA

  • Georgia State, defers to CISA Essential Businesses list
    • Exempts auto repair and maintenance facilities. Sales unclear.
    • First Issued: 3/24/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/2/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A

12. HAWAII

  • Hawaii State, as amended 
    • Exempts auto sales and repair facilities.
    • First Issued: 3/21/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/23/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.

13. IDAHO

  • Idaho State 
    • Exempts auto supply, repair and related facilities. Sales unclear.
    • Also exempts businesses that deliver goods or services directly to residences.
    • First Issued: 3/20/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/2/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/15/20.

14. ILLINOIS

  • Illinois State and Essential Businesses list
    • Exempts auto supply, repair and related facilities. Sales unclear.
    • First Issued: 3/20/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20
  • Cook County
    • Incorporates the provisions of the state order.
    • First Issued: 3/22/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/3/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/7/20.
  • City of Chicago
    • Incorporates the provisions of the state order.
    • First Issued: 3/26/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/6/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

15. INDIANA

  • Indiana State
    • Exempts vehicle rental businesses, auto sales, auto supply, and repair businesses.
    • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/6/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/7/20.

16. IOWA

  • Iowa State as amended and extended
    • Auto sales and repair facilities not required to suspend operations.
    • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/6/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/16/20.

17. KANSAS

  • Kansas State
    • Exempts businesses that sell or maintain automobiles or auto parts.
    • First Issued: 3/24/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/28/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/19/20.

18. KENTUCKY

  • Kentucky State
    • Exempts only auto repair businesses.
    • Sales prohibited by reference to a prior order limiting dealers to provide only repair, parts, and service.
    • First Issued: 3/25/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/25/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

19. LOUISIANA

  • Louisiana State as extended and Essential Infrastructure list
    • Exempts auto repair facilities. Unclear if sales are also exempt but nearly all retailers can remain open subject to social distancing guidelines.
    • First Issued: 3/22/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/2/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/13/20.

20. MAINE

  • Maine State as clarified
    • Exempts auto repair businesses and employees enabling transportation functions by reference to prior order.
    • Dealerships must suspend operations (unclear if dealership service departments may continue to operate under the current administrative guidance).
    • First Issued: 3/18/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/3/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.

    21. MARYLAND

    • Maryland State and Interpretive Guidance
      • Exempts auto dealerships and repair businesses subject to social distancing guidelines.
      • A local dealer association’s best practices for Maryland dealers suggests curtailed sales operations; service and parts departments can operate subject to social distancing. 
      • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/30/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

    22. MASSACHUSETTS

    • Massachusetts State and Exhibit A (essential businesses) as extended
      • Auto sales should be exempt as a “commercial retail store” supplying an essential sector (but only “auto supplies” are listed by example).
      • Auto repair and maintenance facilities are exempt.
      • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/30/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

    23. MICHIGAN

    • Michigan State and FAQs
      • Exempts auto repair and maintenance businesses, and such components of a dealership.
      • Showrooms are closed and in person sales are prohibited, except for sales that must be conducted in-person if necessary to assist a person with an emergency need “such as a critical infrastructure worker whose vehicle has been damaged beyond repair and who has no other means of transport.”
      • First Issued: 3/24/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/24/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/13/20.

    24. MINNESOTA

    • Minnesota State and Essential Businesses list
      • Exempts auto repair businesses.
      • Auto sales permitted if “necessary to allow for essential travel, when conducted by appointment” and subject to social distancing guidelines.
      • First Issued: 3/25/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/25/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/10/20.

    25. MISSISSIPPI

    • Mississippi State as amended
      • Exempts auto sales and repair businesses.
      • First Issued: 3/24/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/17/20.

    26. MISSOURI:

    • Missouri State
      • Most businesses may conduct in person operations subject to social distancing rules including no gatherings of more than 10 people in a single space.
      • Auto supply and repair businesses are exempt. Sales unclear (but dealerships may continue to operate subject to social distancing rules).
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/3/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/24/20.

    27. MONTANA

    • Montana State and FAQs
      • Exempts auto supply, repair, and related facilities.
      • Sales unclear but are arguably exempt as “businesses needed for transportation.”
      • First Issued: 3/26/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/7/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/22/20.

    28. NEBRASKA

    • Nebraska State and FAQs
      • Excludes auto dealerships, repair shops, most retailers, and most offices, subject to social distancing rules.
      • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/7/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

    29. NEVADA

    • Nevada State as extended and Essential Businesses list
      • Exempts auto supply and repair businesses. Sales are permitted “on a limited basis” (which is not yet defined).
      • First Issued: 3/20/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.

    30. NEW HAMPSHIRE

    • New Hampshire State as extended and Exhibit A (essential businesses)
      • Exempts auto sales, supply and repair businesses.
      • First Issued: 3/26/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/3/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/24/20.

    31. NEW JERSEY

    • New Jersey State and Administrative Order
      • Exempts auto repair businesses.
      • Exempts car dealerships only to provide maintenance and repair services and to deliver online or phone purchases directly to customers, or to arrange for curbside pickup or delivery at a dealership service lane.
      • First Issued: 3/21/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/30/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.  

    32. NEW MEXICO

    • New Mexico
      • Exempts auto repair businesses and “retailers who generate the majority of their revenue from the sale of automobile repair products.” 
      • Dealerships may sell vehicles online but may not allow customers in showrooms.
      • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/6/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.

    33. NEW YORK

    • New York Stateas amended and guidance
      • Exempts auto repair businesses and sales “conducted remotely or electronically, with in-person vehicle return and delivery by appointment only.”
      • First Issued: 3/18/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/29/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/28/20.
    • New York City
      • Incorporates the above state orders.
      • First Issued: 3/16/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/4/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/9/20.

    34. NORTH CAROLINA

    • North Carolina 
      • Exempts auto sales, auto supply, repair businesses and related facilities.
      • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/27/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.

    35.  NORTH DAKOTA

    • North Dakota State as extended
      • Allows most non-food retailers to remain open subject to social distancing guidelines.
      • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/20/20.

    36.  OHIO

    • Ohio State 
      • Exempts auto supply and repair businesses and related facilities.
      • In person sales unclear, but businesses that deliver vehicles to their owners are exempt.
      • First Issued: 3/22/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/2/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/1/20.

    37.  OKLAHOMA

    • Oklahoma State and Essential Businesses list
      • Exempts auto supply and repair businesses and vehicle dealers.
      • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/2/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.

    38. OREGON

    • Oregon State
      • Car dealerships not specifically exempt, but not included in lists of businesses which must close.
    • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/23/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

    39. PENNSYLVANIA

    • Pennsylvania State
      • Allows only “life-sustaining businesses.”
      • Industry Guidance Exhibit
        • §  May continue physical operations: (i) “Automotive Repair and Maintenance;” (ii) “Automotive Equipment Rental and Leasing;” and (iii) “Automotive Parts, Accessories, and Tire Stores.”  
        • §  May not continue physical operations: (i) “Automobile Dealers” and (ii) “Other Motor Vehicle Dealers.” 
        • First Issued: 3/26/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

    40. RHODE ISLAND

    • Rhode Island State and Essential Businesses list
      • Exempts auto supply and repair stores.
      • Dealerships may only provide auto repair by appointment. Sales are not exempt.
      • First Issued: 3/26/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/3/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/13/20.

    41. SOUTH CAROLINA

    • South Carolina State as amended
      • Allows most non-food retailers to remain open subject to social distancing rules including limiting occupancy to five customers per 1,000 feet of retail space.
      • First Issued: 3/17/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/6/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

    42. SOUTH DAKOTA

    • South Dakota as amended
      • Social distancing rules are mandatory only for food businesses, casinos, recreational or athletic facilities, health clubs, and entertainment venues. Social distancing is recommended for all businesses.
      • Automotive retailers and repair businesses may operate normally.
      • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/6/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 5/31/20.

    43. TENNESSEE

    • Tennessee State
      • Exempts dealers, auto supply and repair stores.
      • First Issued: 3/22/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/30/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/14/20.

    44. TEXAS

    • Texas State
      • Exempts auto repair and maintenance facilities. Sales unclear.
      • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/30/20.

    45. UTAH

    • Utah State
      • Allows most non-food retailers to remain open subject to social distancing guidelines.
      • First Issued: 3/27/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/26/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/13/20.
      • Salt Lake County
        • Exempts auto sales, supply and repair businesses.
        • First Issued: 3/19/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/29/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/13/20.
      • Salt Lake City
        • City press release exempts auto sales and repair businesses by reference to county order.

    46. VERMONT

    • Vermont State and Guidance
      • Exempts auto parts, repair and maintenance, including such departments of a dealership.
      • Dealership showrooms must close. Online sales are allowed.  Such retail operations must be conducted online or by telephone and through curbside pickup to the extent possible.
      • First Issued: 3/24/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/1/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/15/20.

    47. VIRGINIA

    • Virginia State as extended
      • Exempts only auto repair and maintenance businesses.
      • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/30/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 6/10/20.

    48. WASHINGTON

    • Washington State, as clarified and guidance bulletin
      • Exempts auto repair and maintenance businesses.
      • Dealerships may sell and lease vehicles by appointment only to close a pending transaction (as of March 23) or replace a totaled or heavily damaged vehicle, extend a lease, or provide transportation to an essential worker that has no other means of transportation.
      • First Issued: 3/23/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/31/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/6/20.

    49. WEST VIRGINIA

    • West Virginia
      • Exempts auto dealers and auto repair and maintenance businesses.
      • First Issued: 3/18/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/23/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

    50. WISCONSIN

    •  Wisconsin State
      • Exempts auto dealers and auto repair businesses.
      • First Issued: 3/24/20; Last Amended/Extended: 3/24/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: 4/24/20.

    51. WYOMING

    • Wyoming State
      • Exempts auto repair businesses and retailers where more than 10 people may be present but are generally at least 6 feet apart.
      • First Issued: 3/20/20; Last Amended/Extended: 4/3/20; Expires/Reevaluation Date: N/A.

    Contacts

    Continue Reading